Dan Peer, PhD, Tel Aviv University and Eran Elinav, MD, PhD, Tel Aviv Sourasky Medical Center ($100,000) for Harnessing Immuno-nanotechnology for Therapy of Inflammatory Bowel Disease.

David Boone, PhD, University of Chicago ($100,000), for Gastric Control of Intestinal Function.

Gautam Dantas, PhD, Washington University School of Medicine ($100,000) for Synthetic Engineering of Enhanced Fitness and Adhesion Properties in Probiotics for the Treatment of Inflammatory Bowel Disease. Read our Blog about Dr. Dantas’ research progress.

Gwendalyn Randolph, PhD, Washington University School of Medicine ($100,000) for Interface Between Antigen-Presenting Cells, Lympahtics, and the Expansion of Adipose Tissue in Inflammatory Intestinal Disease.

Richard M. Maizels, PhD, Edinburgh University ($100,000) for Potential of Parasite Products to Suppress Inflammatory Bowel Disease.

Samuel L. Miller, MD, University of Washington ($100,000) for Development of a Fecal Microbiota Transplant Mouse Model for Ulcerative Colitis to Identify Pro-and Anti-inflammatory Bacteria.

Thaddeus S. Stappenbeck MD, PhD and Herbert W. Virgin, IV, MD, PhD, Washington University¬† School of Medicine ($100,000) for Identification of Microbial Triggers of Colitis in Genetically Relevant, Transmissible Mouse Model. Read our Blog about Dr. Stappenbeck and Dr. Virgin’s research progress.

Tiffany Horng, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Genetics and Complex Diseases, Harvard School of Public Health ($100,000) for A Novel Mouse Model to Study the Molecular Basis of Chronic Inflammation in Inflammatory Bowel Disease.